Vision is the art of seeing what is invisible to others

“So you’re still out there, Praise?”

What type of question is that lol, I’m pretty sure you’d know when God has taken me home to be with him, and although some say I ghost, I’m pretty much still here. There’s no getting rid of me, you’re stuck with me till…. Well till whenever to be honest, so ha!

My readers, ohh how I have missed you *wipes tear drop off cheek”. Honestly, I don’t have a valid reason as to why I haven’t blogged, but college has been stressssss! Also, I want my posts to be meaningful and thoughtful and not rush so I took some time out to collect my thoughts because a lot has been going on…..but that’s all boring stuff.

After a messy messy night last night, I woke up to go to the New Designers Exhibition in Islington, London. And my God, some art out there is just jaw dropping. Some of you may be wondering why I was actually there but basically one of the A levels I study is Fine Art Textiles. I have a mad mad love for art, some may not know and it’s not something go particularly bang on about but it’s literally my passion. I don’t know why I get so emotional writing or even thinking about this. I swear I have the emotions of a pregnant lady when it comes to matters of this but let me just explain before you go off thinking I’m an emotional, soppy being, which I am evidently.

For a long time I’ve struggled with finding my purpose or what I’m good at. I’m someone who doesn’t consider myself to have a unique talent, I’m okay at this and okay at that but not amazing or outstanding at anything in particular; and once someone begins to feel like that you become very low. Although I don’t want to go into this much because this is intended for another post but yes, I was battling within myself to actually go out in search for the talent God has given me. That’s when I stumbled across art. From a young age, I’ve always had an eye for drawings, different interpretations of things, colour, pattern, fashion, design but it was something I always overlooked. However recently during my AS textile course, I’ve come to realise that I have a eye for attention to detail, a mind that processes artists work in a way that is analytical and creative. I used to believe I lacked creativity, and I never liked being out of my comfort zone but this course has caused me to.

The Exhibition I was privileged to go to was one made up of graduated degree students from a range of universities who came to showcase the folders of work. I went into there only to get ideas as to what I could actually do in my final piece, I didn’t know I would walk out with a totally different view to art and what my life could become. Each design was thoughtful, well completed, interesting and just beautiful. Although some art pieces appeared kind of bizarre or different, it emphasised on the fact “Vision is the art of seeing what is invisible to others” and yes, I am relating this to art but this stretches to all areas of life.

Always see the beauty in your situation, the light in the darkness, the blessings in your stress, the smiles behind the tears, the healing behind the pain, the strength during affliction. Always try to see the positive behind the situation and embrace things when they don’t go right. Just like in the art and design world, mistakes can turn out to be the most amazing pieces of art work. Sometimes it’s hard to see this but ask God to give you sight like his because he says “Everything is fearfully and wonderfully made”.

It’s great to be back! Be encouraged, the beauty in my art piece is the God that lives within me! Find your beauty!

Love, Praise’Gbemisola x

P.S. The pictures taken are of other people’s work, please do not use it! Respect their craft. Thankyou.

20140628-194257-70977131.jpg

20140628-194259-70979097.jpg

20140628-194300-70980017.jpg

20140628-194256-70976221.jpg

20140628-194255-70975259.jpg

20140628-194301-70981916.jpg

20140628-194258-70978151.jpg

20140628-194301-70981018.jpg

Leave a Reply

