Half of a yellow sun

As you guys all know, I took a break from blogging over the summer, due to work, travelling, family etc. Anyways just to show you guys I was thinking about you, I found a post I composed a few weeks back. And no, I’m not at all a reader but here’s a glimpse into what I discovered when I picked up this book.

So I know I haven’t blogged in a while but i seem to have found yet another hobby. And yes, you’ve identified it. I tend to get bored f things very easily. It’s not that I was bored of blogging or didn’t have anything to write but the process involved with ordering my thoughts in a way that was somewhat logical and interesting and actually recording them in a post just seemed overly long to me. So I jumped on another band wagon and began reading.

I don’t know whether it’s because of my upcoming EPQ project I am to begin or it’s for my dream of becoming a chemical engineer working in Nigeria, I’ve become increasingly interested in all things Naija. Nigerians music, films, news, words ( yes, I have now become somewhat fluent at speaking Yoruba) but most importantly books. For a while now I’ve heard people bang on about these Nigerian authors but I never once thought I would be sat on a plane for my summer vacation with a Nigerian novel in hand, a freshly warmed sausage roll, an array of sweets and chocolates and a nice cold drink, watching the moving scenes from the frosted window totally engrossed in this new book. Yeah, yeah, I’m not even gunna add to the suspense, you’ve guessed it, it’s only “Half of a Yellow Sun by someone who’s name I cannot pronounce or even spell (the book is very far away from me currently). So I thought what better way to try to redeem myself from my readers than to give them a personal book review from what I would describe as my favourite book and such a good read!

Ermm, okay, I can’t lie, I’m not too sure how these book review things go but I want to analyse this great novel without revealing too much so I give all you guys a chance to experience just a bit of what I experienced. But I’ll admit it right now, I was a hermit for a few days, carrying this book everywhere, wrapped in newspaper in order for it not to be ruined, commonly talking to myself or screaming at the characters or shedding a tear or two…. Or many in my case. It’s no understatement to say that this book just hits the nail right in the head for many reasons. I don’t know why but I didn’t do any research into this book, I briefly skim read the blurb and just went for it. The way which the author connects the main characters involved still baffles me now, never once did I feel disconnected from the story even when key bits d history was injected into it. I’m all for order and organisation but the author choose to deviate from the whole chronological order of things and reversed the story line in many chapters. For someone like me who doesn’t know anything at all about my origin and place of birth, it was important for me to take in all the references to history, after all the book was based on a historical event that has now shaped greater Nigeria, the Biafran War. It’s shocking to see how African parents are quick to teach you the culture and ways of life you’re from and not the actual history. What use is there having to call strangers Auntie/Uncle or scrape your knees just to greet when you don’t know where your nation stemmed from. Even just taking aside Nigeria as a whole but investigating into the tribes, you learn soooo much. I never knew I liked history or was interested in affairs from the past but this book has made me want to find out even more.

If you asked me before what books I read, I’d say my revision guide, the way I revise is to read my revision guide as a story book and go over each page several times before it starts forming in my head. So when my friends used to read countless books, I can’t lie, I was pretty envious but I never understood the fascination behind these fictional tales. It is true that reading does open your mind to a lot of things. The 3 days or so I spent reading this book has broadened my thoughts so much and made me realise I’m not as educated and current as I thought I was.

All these articles, magazines, newspapers, the internet, they’re all good but to me it doesn’t compare to having a book in your hand and taking the information in. Reading is so insightful.

I can’t promise that during these 6 or so weeks I’m off college, I’ll be blogging day in and day out but just know the times I’m away, my head probably in a book, I’m trying to enlarge my thoughts and increase in knowledge just for you guys. After all, knowledge is key.

The book has recently been made into a movie which is a good adaptation of the book, however it’s only now I realise that books are much better than films!

•Author: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Love, Praise’Gbemisola x

IMG_6176.JPG

IMG_6175.JPG

Leave a Reply

