Orange is the new black

I’m sure many of you will read the title of this post and think you’ve got it all figured out. I’ll be commenting on the new American programme that’s become a worldwide phenomenon. Well, I hate to break it to you but that’s not it, at all at all. If anything there is no relation there. Sorry guys! It’s not that I haven’t watched the programme…. Well if you count 2 minutes but my God it was…. Well it was…. What word can I use? Interesting. Very interesting to say the least.

So today’s blog, as a continuation of my post, I’m looking at things that make me happy, so I mentioned the whole make up thing, then gave you guys 5 tips on being happy and now today’s a fashion one or wardrobe. Now before I start, I’m in no way a model or fashionista, I’m new to all of this but it’s something I’m very much interested in, due to my love of art and textiles, a course in currently studying at A2. So yeah, here goes….

Like I said in a previous post, me working over summer providing me with so many opportunities to express and show more of myself. It’s not that I wasn’t doing it before but I felt restricted asking my parents for money all the time, which even though they didn’t mind, as they never really allowed me to touch my own money, it became too much for me. Sometimes going through the process of asking for money, then being asked what you needed it for was long and tedious, something I didn’t want to do unless it was important or a necessity. Anyways this summer I splurged on a lot of new garments, one thing I bought just last week or so was this orange dress! Ohhhh, I’m so in love with it.

Last night, I went to a party with my Mum and Godmother and decided to bring the dress out! I never knew orange could compliment my skin tone so well! It has immediately become my favourite colour! I dunno what it is about the bright hue of orange or it’s association with yellow but even now in winter, a pop of colour can’t do much harm. I teamed the loose fitting shift dress with black wedge heels and kept my make up pretty much natural looking and kept my lips bare. I added colour to my face by wearing an orange sleek blush from a set just to brighten up my face. Funny enough, just like my mum she was intrigued to find our where I got the dress from. Now here’s the funny thing about me shopping, I can go to the cheapest shops and still manage to find something that looks good. Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder right? So yes, I grabbed this dress while I could. And although I wanted the dress to be more fitted, so would’ve liked a size 6/8, I actually got it in a size 10 and to me it wasn’t too bad. Sometimes you have to swallow your pride and just pick up a bargain, so where did I get this dress…… It was only Primarni! Loool, my ever able cheap shop, I love abit of Primark.

So there’s how orange is the new black for me, bye bye black dress and LBD’s, and hello orange or a pop of colour! It’s not that black isn’t nice, it’s lovely but it’s too much of a safe option. Sometimes experiment with colours, you never know what suits you unless you shop round, try and have an open mind. This doesn’t apply to just fashion or clothing but every area in life. Don’t restrict yourself with what feels safe and best with you, push yourself!

Love, Praise’Gbemisola x

IMG_9014-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

